It Doesn’t Hurt to Ask…

Even before joining the Peace Corps, Shaun and I have always wanted to learn more about the field of grant writing. In the realm of development, it is an essential skill, yet, there is so much we don’t know about it…who controls the money? How do you find grants? How do you write proposals that end up getting funded? The list of what we don’t know could go on and on…

Since arriving in Cameroon, we set some personal goals to gain more experience and knowledge in this field. Yet, just writing grants doesn’t make us good grant writers. We thought it would be awesome to be able to take a class, to learn more from someone who knows more than us. So, on a whim, I pulled up the winter term class schedule for our local community college, and they are offering a 6 week online grant writing class starting in March. Perfect! Minus the $90 registration cost. I sent off an email to the admin team of said community college, and to my huge surprise, I received a response where their staff went out of their way to gain a tuition waiver for us to take the class for free! I was overwhelmed by the ease of just getting what I asked for, without having to pay!

I am not sure whether this community college wants us to publish that they give classes for free, I hear that’s not good for business, but all of you who share our hometown know who the credit goes to. A big shout out to them for being willing to support two local Peace Corps Volunteers!

We are really excited to begin the class in March…for both the reasons of personal development and meeting some goals we set, as well as to have academic activity again. Lately, all I can think about is grad school, so I am hoping this dose of ‘school’ will satisfy me for awhile. We’ll keep you posted once we begin the class, but until then, I guess the old saying is true…I guess it doesn’t hurt to ask.

Leave a Reply

